Skip to Main Content

Archaeology: Cite with RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

Welcome to RefWorks!

 RefWorks is a way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.  You can read, annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.

RefWorks’ drag and drop capability along with our smart document recognition makes it easy and fast to upload documents and bibliographic metadata into your library and the Save to RefWorks feature allows you to capture research from websites with the click of a button.

From simple bibliographies to papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes, RefWorks handles it all.

Creating an Account

Getting Started

New users must create a personal account to get started.

  • Access the RefWorks website.
  • Select “Create Account” on the RefWorks page.  You will need to enter your Quinnipiac University email account (make sure to use quinnipiac.edu not qu.edu) and create a password.  Next, activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process).
  • After creating your account, you are ready to populate your RefWorks database with citations.

Directions

Your citation information will come from a variety of sources. 

Choose the appropriate one from the list below to see specific instructions on how to import the citation data into your RefWorks account.

Save articles from the Web using Save to RefWorks

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called the Save to RefWorks button.  The Save to RefWorks button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library. 

To add the Save to RefWorks button to your browser, click on Tools and select Tools (screen shot below).   Simply drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

You can easily review the information about the webpage (metadata) and edit it prior to importing into RefWorks.  This is an important step since what RefWorks can capture varies from webpage to webpage.  Please see below for an example of a webpage (CDC) and the Save to RefWorks information panel.  The first thing to check at the top is the option, Type of Reference, and verify that it indicates Web Page.  

 

Creating a Bibliography

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.  Usually a bibliography will be created from a folder. 

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon . 

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

 

When the bibliography opens it will appear in the citation style most recently used.  To change the style, click on the arrow next to the style in use, example is APA 6th.  Select a different style from the listing or type in a style in the search box, for example MLA, and select MLA 8th edition.  Once the new style is chosen, the bibliography will automatically reload.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.