Archaeology: Library Databases for Articles, etc.

Library OneSearch is a search engine that provides simple access to relevant information including scholarly resources at Quinnipiac University through an integrated search of all our databases, e-books, print books, full-text journals and the Quinnipiac Library Catalog.

Library OneSearch

Typing your search in Library OneSearch is as easy to use as 1-2-3:  Search, Sort and See.

Search: Enter search terms into a single search box, or select an Advanced Search option.

Sort: Arrange results by criteria such as date, subject, academic journals and other options.

See: View results, and link directly to full text for more details.

1. Conduct a search
2. Click onicon to right of the title 
3. Go to folder icon on top next to search button 
4. Click on dropdown under Export To, click on RefWorks
5. Click on Import.
6. Click on Go to Last Imported
7. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
8. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Try some of these suggestions to identify better search results. 

• Start with keywords
• Remember the singular and plural of a word may yield different search results, therefore use the * (asterisk symbol) after the root of the word and it will find all words with that root.  For example, crim* will find crime, crimes, criminal, criminals, criminology, etc., but note that it will also find Crimea if in the database.
• Use these connectors when appropriate:  and, or
• Use quotes around phrases
• Check for database options to limit results, such as language, peer-reviewed, article, etc
• Read abstract of article for a summary
• Recognize and incorporate database subject headings
• Use Ctrl F to search a word or phrase in an article OR use the PDF option    which is part of the printing, save bar.  Click it and then the binoculars on the left    and enter term(s).
   
• Click on author's name(s) for their other articles
• Use the references or works cited or bibliography to identify additional articles
• If there is an HTML or text version of the full article, the references may be hyperlinked

1. Conduct a search
2. Click on + icon to right of the article title 
3. Click on Folder View in right margin next to title (just under "Folder has items")
4. Check box to Select All references
5. In the right column, click on page icon with green arrow to Export
6. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
7. Click on Save. Do not check off remove items from folder after saving
8. Click on Import
9. Click on Go to Last Imported
10. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
11. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder

1. Conduct a search
2. Click on the title of the article
3. Click on Cite (") in the upper right corner
4. Click on RefWorks
5. Click on Import
6. Click on Go to Last Imported
7. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
8. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder