Use this multimedia search engine to find various types of CC licensed items from sources such as Google Images, Fotopedia, Jamendo, Flickr and more. They also have a community-built and maintained Content Directory that features hundreds of media resources from around the world and in a variety of different subject areas.
Internet Archive - Moving Image Archive
Free access to digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films.
A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purpose.
Full length video from the full range of Public Broadcasting shows. Some shows have limited online availability; be sure to check the expiration date under Details.
TED Videos are not officially licensed with any kind of open licensing. However, TED allows the users to freely view and download the videos without restraint. The website is provided as a public service to promote the spread of good ideas.
The Creative Commons Attibution license provides a standard way for content creators to grant others permission to use their work. You can mark your videos with a Creative Commons license CC BY license. These videos are then accessible to YouTube users for use, even commercially, in their own videos via the YouTube Video Editor when uploading them to YouTube
The Creative Commons website includes an option to search for Creative Commons content across numerous sources, including Flickr, Google and Wikimedia Commons among many others.
A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.
To find images that can be reused and remixed use Google's Advanced Image search options. To use the usage rights filter option, select "advanced image search" on the main Google Images page. Once in the "advanced image search" page, you will find the usage rights options at the bottom of the page. In the usage rights menu you can select one of four options; "labeled for reuse," "labeled for commercial.
Internet Archive - Moving Image Archive
Free access to digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films.
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog(PPOC) contains catalog records and digitial images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.
NY Public Library Digital Gallery
Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the new York Public Library's collections.
More than 200,000 Creative Commons-licensed images in the arts, sciences, and literature aggregated from museums, libraries, and archives around the world.
An extensive library of free stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use. All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
You can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.
Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, with others available for paid licensing.
A media file repository that is completely dedicated to providing educational media that are released either in the public domain or under Creative Commons license.
Has an option similar to Google's for finding Creative Commons licensed images. When you search for images using Yahoo's image search tool, you can select filters to refine results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. The filters allow you to select filters for images that can be used for commercial purposes or images that are licensed for remixing and building upon.