Faculty Quick Start: Home

Accessing Full Text

Two of the most popular ways to find articles and books are Google Scholar and Library OneSearch. The library also offers hundreds of research databases which will link to fulltext. Starting at the library web site will ensure access to full text. Google Scholar and OneSearch have additional steps needed to access fulltext.

1. Google Scholar

1. Make sure you are signed into your Google account. From the main screen in Google Scholar click on the three line "hamburger men" in the upper right corner of the screen. 
2. Under Settings, select Library Links.
3. In the search box type quinnipiac, which will then select linking for Quinnipiac licensed resources.

Google Scholar settings for Library links, with Quinnipiac University and Full-Text@Quinnipiac U selected.

With these settings you'll now see options for all Full Text available to you as a member of the Quinnipiac community. 

2. Library OneSearch

The library provides a very broad Google-like search of books and journals called OneSearch, which is available from the library's homepage. To make OneSearch run optimally the library urges you to set up a MyEbsco Account. This will enable you to get full text and also place holds on books in the collection.

1. Click the account icon in the upper-right corner and select Sign in to MyEbsco.

​​​​​

1. Your login and password will be your Quinnipiac login and password (what you use to log in to email).
2. Check the box to consent to EBSCO's Personal Data Collection and Usage policy. .Note that Ebsco complies with strict European Union Laws on data privacy, and they do not share your data with any third parties.
3. Whenever you start a OneSearch session first log into your account. 

Using a personalized account will give you access to digital content and services such as pulling and holding books for you. 

3. Expedited Delivery

Sometimes the library doesn't have an article or book you need. We offer interlibrary loan at no charge to you. We also have an Expedited Delivery service for faculty which will bring you articles within an hour. as opposed to a one-to-two-day turnaround time for traditional ILL.  Articles are delivered as PDF to your email, and you are not charged. If you want to make use of expedited delivery please let us know so we can set up an account for you.

 

Requests for Library Books and More

• Video: we purchase video for use in classes from several sources such as Kanopy and Swank. Email Bob Young to request a film title(s).
• Books for Reserves or for the Collection. Fill out a request form if you would like the library to purchase a book and/or to put a book on reserve.
• Databases and Journals: if you find that a database or journal which is important to your work is not available at Quinnipiac, please email Katie Bauer to request that the library consider purchasing the resource. 

 

Services

Liaison Services

ABL has librarians assigned to support faculty in each department. Consider your department liaison your starting point for anything library related. Liaisons are available to 

• Consult on research topics
• Provide library-instruction to a class, either in-person or via Zoom. Request via this form or by contacting your library liaison.
• be available to your students for questions related to their classwork

Reference Desk

Drop in help is available. Hours during the semester are M-Th 9am-8pm, Fri-Sat 9am-5pm, Sunday none. The desk is (almost) always staffed during these times. 

The Arnold Bernhard Library at Quinnipiac University offers three journal packages, ACM, Cambridge and Springer Nature, which allow QU authors to publish OA with no article processing charges.

Please note that the library cannot cover individual APCs for other publishers not covered by these three agreements. 

 

ACM Open

Quinnipiac-affiliated corresponding authors can publish open access free of charge across ACM’s complete catalog of journals, conference proceedings and magazines. The following types of articles are covered by the agreement with Quinnipiac:

• Research Article
• Short Paper
• Review Article
• Survey Article
• Technical Note
• Tutorial
• Interview
• Note

Note that abstracts, editorials, invited talks, and opinions are not covered. 

Use your valid Quinnipiac email quinnipiac.edu when submitting the article. Other authors on the paper do not need to be at an institution with an agreement covering charges. 

The default option will be to publish Open Access. If you do not want the article to be open access, you will need to Opt Out. 

The default Creative Commons license option is CC-BY, although the participating author may choose any of the Creative Commons license options.  See instructions for authors. 

It is not necessary to coordinate with the library, but please contact us if you run into any problems. 

 

Cambridge Journals

Quinnipiac-affiliated corresponding authors can publish in any Gold or Hybrid  (that is fully open and journals with both open and paywalled articles) open access journal free of charge. Please notify the library when you request permission to waive fees with Cambridge, as the library will need to approve the request. More information can be found at the Cambridge publishing site. 

Requirements:

• The corresponding author (the person communicating with Cambridge about the submission) must have a valid quinnipiac.edu email address.
• The submission must be original research, to include research articles, review articles, rapid communications, brief reports and case reports. 
• The submission must be accepted after January 1, 2025.
• After acceptance, choose Open Access and select the desired Creative Commons license.
• You will receive instructions from RightsLink. You should see that there is no fee for publishing open access, but you still need to complete the request process.
• If there is any problem with this process, please contact the library.

 

Springer Nature Journals--Hybrid OA Only

QU authors may publish in any Springer Nature hybrid OA journal with no article processing charges. Hybrid journals are those with both open and traditional subscriber-only articles. Fully open Springer Nature journals are not covered by this agreement, and fees are not waived for fully open journals. Springer offers over 2200  hybrid OA journals which are covered by this agreement. 

It is not necessary to coordinate with the library. The corresponding author (the person acting as the main contact for Springer Nature correspondence after the article is accepted) should use their valid quinnipiac.edu email address when communicating with Springer. To publish open access:

1. Select Quinnipiac University from the dropdown menu in the specified section that requests your institution on the publishing agreement forms.
2. Once you have chosen Quinnipiac University, you must click the "Next" button followed by the "Submit for Approval" button. The article will subsequently enter the verification process, after which the Approval Manager will decide whether to approve or reject the article for potential APC coverage.

This agreement was negotiated through the Lyrasis Consortium of libraries, and covers 120 participating institutions. Information about the agreement can be found here. 

If you have any problems with the submission process or have a question please contact the library.