LGBTQIA+ Resources for the Quinnipiac University Community: LGBTQIA+ History Sites

The museum is a new collaborative project dedicated to preserving and sharing (through exhibitions, tours, and special events) LGBTQ+ history and culture. Developed in partnership with the New‑York Historical Society, the museum will open to visitors in 2024.

Developed by the Connecticut Historical Society in partnership with Central Connecticut State University, this traveling exhibit consists of eight pop-up banners. The exhibit explores the idea of the LGBTQ community becoming a community, finding its voice, moving from invisibility to visibility, and moving from an underground existence to a claimed communal identity.

The DTA provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the archives is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

Founded in 1985, the GLBT Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history. The organization has two locations, the GLBT Historical Society Museum that mounts exhibits and special events, and the Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives and Research Center which is open to researchers.

THP is the only organization focused exclusively on documenting and preserving the history of New England’s LGBTQ communities and sharing that history with LGBTQ individuals, organizations, allies, and the public. They maintain one of the largest independent LGBTQ archives in the nation, which includes more than 150 collections from organizations and individuals encompassing more than one million documents. Collections range from the records of early Gay Liberation organizations and photographs of pre-Stonewall Boston to objects such as T-shirts and buttons and materials documenting the marriage equality movement.

The LHA was founded in the 1970s when a group of women involved in the Gay Academic Union realized that Lesbian history was “disappearing as quickly as it was being made.” The archives mission is to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives. The website provides detailed information about the archives various collections and has a number of accessible digital collections that can be accessed and viewed

The Initiative was created to connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities with the wide array of resources, services, and expertise that The New York Public Library has to offer. New Yorkers and communities around the world can engage with a variety of offerings—from archives of international importance, exciting programs with major scholars, artists, and activists, and outreach to LGBTQ communities of all ages and backgrounds.

ONE is the oldest existing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBTQ+) organization in the United States, and one of the largest repositories of LGBTQ+ materials in the world. Located in Los Angeles, California, ONE Archives is a part of the University of Southern California Libraries. The various collections contain over two million items including periodicals; books; film, video and audio recordings; photographs; artworks; ephemera, such as clothing, costumes, and buttons; organizational records; and personal papers. ONE Archives also operates a small gallery and museum space devoted to LGBT art and history in West Hollywood, California.

SNMA is located in Fort Lauderdale, FL, and is one of the largest LGBTQ+ archives and libraries in the United States. Established in 1972, the founder Mark Silber used the name “Stonewall” to recognize the fight for LGBTQ+ liberation that began in 1969 at the Stonewall Inn in New York City. SNMA presents an ongoing 12-month schedule of exhibitions on LGBTQ+ themes and public programs, including author presentations, films, panel discussions, and collaborative events. The website has a selection of virtual exhibits featuring materials from their collections.