Provides access to peer-reviewed research and conference literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 23,500 academic journals, conference papers, trade publications, books, and links to quality web sites. Note: Per our license terms with this publisher, Scopus data may not be used to to train artificial intelligence tools.
AI restriction: you may not "use the Subscribed Products without Elsevier's permission in writing in combination with an artificial intelligence tool except where such artificial intelligence tool is used in a closed hosted environment solely for use by the subscriber.
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes MEDLINE, with over 35 million citations. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health sciences, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950-present. Includes links to full text through Quinnipiac.
Databases
Begin looking for articles on your topic. The electronic databases are the place to start. It is important to develop a search strategy using keywords that you have identified describing your topic. Additional terminology may be found as you use the databases. Remember to distinguish between scholarly and popular articles.
Keywords and Search Strategy
Connect keywords using "and" to narrow and focus the search statement –both concepts must appear in each article reference. For example: water use and sustainability.
Abstracts and Subjects/Descriptors
Skim the titles of the articles and then read the abstracts for more detail. If an article looks good, check the subjects, descriptors, or other terms assigned by the author(s) or database to describe the content of the article. Incorporate some of these terms into your search strategy. Also think of other ways to describe your topic, scientific terms or medical terms (check a science or medical dictionary).
Authors and References
Finally, if an article is on-point, click on the authors’ names for additional articles by them. When you have the full article, review the list of references that the authors provide since some of these article titles might be helpful to you, too. You will then need to check the Journal Locator for availability.
A freely accessible database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes indexing for both scholarly and general interest titles and full text linking to open access publications. View and search for images found in articles.
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly full-text journals. The earliest content dates back to 1665. It is prohibited to use JSTOR content in open, generative AI tools such as ChatGPT.
JSTOR provides an Interactive Research AI tool. Users must be affiliated with QU and logged in with a personal account. JSTOR's Interactive Research Tool provides a summary of key points of an article, related articles, or users can ask questions about the article. JSTOR Overview.
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Quick and comprehensive access to more than 10,000 full-text business, legal, and news sources.
* Please use FIREFOX or SAFARI browser *
