Skip to Main Content

New OneSearch Frequently Asked Questions: General Questions

What is a Library Discovery Service?

OneSearch is a discovery system designed to provide a Google-like search across many library databases, journals and books. It functions by indexing content licensed by the Quinnipiac Libraries. It is the broadest and most powerful search a patron can conduct when looking for a known information source or researching a topic. A typical search will provide thousands of results, with most relevant results appearing at the top of the list. Filters can be used to narrow results.

Library patrons may access specific databases via the library's "A-Z Database List" on the homepage and conduct a more focused, narrow search when researching a topic from a disciplinary point-of-view. These discrete databases are often limited to information sources from specific publishers and do not necessarily provide access to all information on a topic available in the library's collection. 

Why did Quinnipiac Libraries Switch Discovery tools?

In 2023 the library was notified that its catalog system was being discontinued. After years of consolidation in the library services market there were only a handful of library management software platforms and electronic discovery tools available as a replacement. The Quinnipiac Libraries evaluated available options holistically and determined that the EBSCO platform offered the best solution. 

What Stays the Same

  • The search interface is still called "OneSearch and is prominently displayed on the ABL website.
  • OneSearch  provides an integrated, Google-like search of content including abstracts, books, full-text e-journals, print materials, and multimedia.
  • OneSearch includes both a basic search feature, an advanced search feature, and familiar filters for more precise search results.
  • QU credentials still serve as log-in credentials. Patrons must log in for access to full-text or to request book delivery to a circulation desk. 

What Changes

  • Users can put a book on hold and have it placed at the circulation desk of their choice (ABL, Netter, Law) for pick-up.
  • No more late fees for materials that circulate (this does not include reserve items).
  • It is easier to locate resources on reserve by faculty name or course number.
  • Different search filters (source-type, date, etc) are available to limit sources at different points in the search process.
  • There is no longer a dedicated library catalog for searching books and multi-media.

What is EBSCO's Privacy Policy

Patrons are not required to create an account or log-in to use EDS to conduct searches. Patrons are required to create an account and log-in to use the advanced features located under the My Dashboard feature, which are linked to an individual's account. EBSCO has a detailed Privacy Policy explaining what information it collects, how it collects that information, and how it uses that information. Click here to view the Privacy Policy. 

The Library strongly recommends that our patrons log in to their account to get the best experience using OneSearch.