Research Guides: Instructional Design Program: Selected Databases

Selected Databases

Listed below are a few selected databases. Complete list of library databases..

Academic Search Ultimate

Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
ERIC Resources in Education (EBSCO version)

The ERIC Resources in Education database using the EBSCO interface which allows easy import into RefWorks citation manager.
ERIC is a comprehensive database of education research and information. Includes indexing of ERIC documents and over 600 education journals. To check for full text at the Arnold Bernhard Library, click on "Find in a library" and follow the links to our Journal Locator.
ERIC Resources in Education (Federal Government version)

A comprehensive database of education research and information. Includes indexing of ERIC documents and over 600 education journals. To check for full text at the Arnold Bernhard Library, click on "Find in a library" and follow the links to our Journal Locator.

JSTOR (see detailed instructions below)
An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly journals. the entire database is full-text, with the earliest content dating back to 1665.

PsycInfo

Comprehensive database of citations, abstracts and full-text articles from major psychology journals, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage begins in 1894 and includes international material.

Sage Journals Online (see detailed instructions below)
Online access to the full text of over 485 SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Medicine and technology. the SAGE Full-text Collections in Communications, Criminology, and Political Science are also available through this platform.

JSTOR

To begin:

From the Library’s homepage, click on Databases
Scroll down to JSTOR and click on it
Click on Advanced Search below the search box
Enter keywords and search the full-text of the article or just the item title (article title)
Narrow by: Item Type (Articles), Date, Language, and Discipline(s) (Education)
Click Search
Click on the article title to read the article (this option shows highlighted keywords)
To print, click on PDF at top of page and OK for terms of use
Click on printer icon

PsycINFO

This is the primary database for searching the psychological literature. It is published by the American Psychological Association.

To begin:

From the Library’s homepage, click on Databases
Scroll down to PsycINFO and click on it
Type in keywords or use subject terms from the Thesaurus
Then Limit your results in the right column to:
   Check off Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals
   Check off English
   Set other limits as needed, for instance Age Groups or Methodology (Limits can be changed during a search
      by clicking on Show More under Refine your results in left margin)
Click on Search button
Click on title to read abstract of article and check the Subjects. Click on printer icon to print the record.
Click on Linked Full Text or PDF Full Text for the full article
Click on Check for Full Text to determine availability at Quinnipiac if a full text link is not available.
If an article is on point, click on the author's name to view their other writing and check the list of references
Click on Search History above results list and Print Search History (this is your record of the search terms and strategy used in a particular session)

Sage Journals Online

To begin:

From the Library’s homepage, click on Databases
Scroll down to Sage Journals Online and click on it
Click on Advanced Search below the search box
Enter keywords and click on Search
Select Full Text (PDF) to read the article

Library OneSearch

Library OneSearch is a search engine that provides simple access to relevant information including scholarly resources at Quinnipiac University through an integrated search of all our databases, e-books, print books, full-text journals and the Quinnipiac Library Catalog.

Library OneSearch

Typing your search in Library OneSearch is as easy to use as 1-2-3: Search, Sort and See.

Search: Enter search terms into a single search box, or select an Advanced Search option.

Sort: Arrange results by criteria such as date, subject, academic journals and other options.

See: View results, and link directly to full text for more details.