Library Databases (Additional Resources) - HS 340 - Native American History - Research Guides at Quinnipiac University Libraries

Selected Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives provides primary sources from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th century, reflecting broad views across American history and culture – including: African American life, Women’s Suffrage, American County Histories, Colonial America, the Civil War, America in World War I, and much more.

America: History and Life
Provides references to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with indexing of academic historical journals since 1964. Can be searched simultaneously with Historical Abstracts.

American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Features more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images, from Pre-contact to the present day.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text journals from 1740-1940. This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Ancestry.com (full access) This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Offering the original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, and the periodical coverage of Biography Index. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan. Includes a searchable image collection.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.
Hartford Courant (Historical) 1764-1922 This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text dating back to the first issue.
Indigenous Peoples of North America Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly journals, with approximately 100 history journals. The entire database is full-text, with the earliest content dating back to 1665. Please note that the most recent few years are not available.

New York Times (Historical) 1851 to 2017 This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text dating back to the first issue. Historical local, regional and national news.

Project Muse
Full-text access to more than 300 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Years covered vary by title.

Hints for Searching Databases

Try some of these suggestions to identify better search results.

Start with keywords
Remember the singular and plural of a word may yield different search results, therefore use the * (asterisk symbol) after the root of the word and it will find all words with that root. For example, crim* will find crime, crimes, criminal, criminals, criminology, etc., but note that it will also find Crimea if in the database.
Use these connectors when appropriate: and, or
Use quotes around phrases
Check for database options to limit results, such as language, peer-reviewed, article, etc.
Read abstract of article for a summary
Recognize and incorporate database subject headings
Use Ctrl F to search a word or phrase in an article OR use the PDF option which is part of the printing, save bar. Click it and then the binoculars on the left and enter term(s)
.
Click on author's name(s) for their other articles
Use the references or works cited or bibliography to identify additional articles
If there is an HTML or text version of the full article, the references may be hyperlinked

HS 340 - Native American History: Library Databases (Additional Resources)

Selected Databases

Hints for Searching Databases