APA 7th Edition - Citing Sources (Arnold Bernhard Library)

A guide to help users create citations using APA (American Psychological Association) style, 7th edition

RefWorks LibGuide

What is RefWorks?

Welcome to RefWorks!

 RefWorks is a way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.  You can read, annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.

RefWorks’ drag and drop capability along with our smart document recognition makes it easy and fast to upload documents and bibliographic metadata into your library and the Save to RefWorks feature allows you to capture research from websites with the click of a button.

From simple bibliographies to papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes, RefWorks handles it all.

Creating an Account

Getting Started

New users must create a personal account to get started.

  • Access the RefWorks website.
  • Select “Create Account” on the RefWorks page.  You will need to enter your Quinnipiac University email account (make sure to use quinnipiac.edu not qu.edu) and create a password.  Next, activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process).
  • After creating your account, you are ready to populate your RefWorks database with citations.

Creating a Bibliography - APA 7th edition

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.  Usually a bibliography will be created from a folder. 

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon .   When the drop down menu opens, click on Create Bibliography again.

 

When the bibliography opens it will appear in the citation style most recently used.  To change the style, click on the arrow next to the style in use, example is APA 7th.  Select a different style from the listing or type in a style in the search box.  Once the new style is chosen, the bibliography will automatically reload. Select the star and it will add this style to your favorites list. Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

 

Export Citations in OneSearch

To export a single citation from Library OneSearch:

  1. Click on the title of an item in your OneSearch results list that you want to cite. This will open up to a page with more information about the item.
  2. Click on the quotation mark symbol (") - also known as the Cite button - at the top of the page.
  3. From the Cite pop-up window, click on the Export Citation button.
  4. Select the Export to RefWorks link.Export to RefWorks link in Library OneSearch.
  5. This will open up RefWorks where you can Assign to Folder(s) and Import the citation.

To export multiple citations in Library OneSearch at the same time:

  1. Check off the boxes in your OneSearch results list next to the items that you want to cite.
  2. At the top of the page, click on the quotation mark symbol (") - also known as the Cite button.
  3. From the Cite pop-up window, click on the Export Citation button.
  4. Select the Export to RefWorks link.
  5. This will open up RefWorks where you can Assign to Folder(s) and Import the citation.

Check off the boxes next to your OneSearch results that you want to cite. Select the quotation mark Cite button to export the citations for these items to RefWorks.

Save to Refworks for Web Articles

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called the Save to RefWorks button.  The Save to RefWorks button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library. 

To add the Save to RefWorks button to your browser, click on Tools and select Tools (screen shot below).   Simply drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

You can easily review the information about the webpage (metadata) and edit it prior to importing into RefWorks.  This is an important step since what RefWorks can capture varies from webpage to webpage.  Please see below for an example of a webpage (CDC) and the Save to RefWorks information panel.  The first thing to check at the top is the option, Type of Reference, and verify that it indicates Web Page.  

 

ABI/INFORM

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Mark records you wish to save by checking them off
  3. Click on  (Above the search results on the right hand side)
  4. Under Citation Export, Click on RefWorks
  5. Under Export/Save, scroll down to the bottom and Click on Continue
  6. Click on Import
  7. Click on Go to Last Imported
  8. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
  9. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Academic Search Complete

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Click on + icon to right of the article title
  3. Click on Folder View in right margin next to title (just under "Folder has items")
  4. Check box to Select All references
  5. In the right column, click on page icon with green arrow to Export
  6. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
  7. Click on Save. Do not check off remove items from folder after saving
  8. Click on Import
  9. Click on Go to Last Imported
  10. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
  11. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Click on + icon to right of the article title 
  3. Click on Folder View in right margin next to title (just under "Folder has items")
  4. Check box to Select All references
  5. In the right column, click on page icon with green arrow to Export
  6. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
  7. Click on Save. Do not check off remove items from folder after saving
  8. Click on Import
  9. Click on Go to Last Imported
  10. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
  11. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder

JSTOR

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Mark records by checking them off (JSTOR requires exporting references page by page)
  3.  On the top of page, click on Cite and select Export to RefWorks
  4.  Click on Import
  5. Click on Go to Last Imported

        6.   Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

       7. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

​

Sage Journals Online

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Mark records you wish to save by checking them off
  3. Click on Export selected citations above the results
  4. Click on Download Citation

Now in RefWorks

       5.  Open  RefWorks

       6. Click +Add from the top left toolbar

       7. Select "Import References"

       8. In the "Import from a file" select Sage from the file, Select RIS Format

       9. Click on Import

      10. Click on Go to last Imported

      11.  Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

       12. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder,  select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Tags: apa, citing