APA 7th Edition - Citing Sources (Arnold Bernhard Library)

The Library OneSearch and EBSCO databases (i.e. Academic Search Ultimate, CINAHL, PsycInfo, etc.) provide a Cite button tool that easily helps you generate citations for sources.

To use the Cite tool:

1. Perform a keyword search in OneSearch - or an EBSCO-hosted database.
2. Click on the title of a work in the Results list.
3. From the Detailed Record, click on the Cite button - the quotation mark (") at the top of the page.
4. From the Cite pop-up box, select a citation style from the dropdown menu (APA, MLA, etc.).
5. Copy and paste the citation into your References / Works Cited list.

Keep in mind that these citations are computer-generated and need to be manually checked and edited for accuracy.

ProQuest databases also provide a Cite button tool that helps you create citations for sources.

To use the Cite tool:

1. Perform a keyword search in a ProQuest database (i.e. ABI/Inform, etc.). ProQuest databases typically have "ProQuest" printed in the upper left-hand corner of the page.
2. Click on the title of a work in the Results list.
3. From the Detailed Record, click on the Cite button on the upper-right corner of the page.
4. From the dropdown menu in the pop-up window, select the desired citation-style.
5. Copy and paste the citation into your paper.

Keep in mind that these citations are computer-generated and need to be manually checked and edited for accuracy.

JSTOR also provides a Cite button tool that helps you create citations for sources.

To use the Cite tool:

1. Perform a keyword search in JSTOR.
2. Click on the Cite button in the Results list next to the item you'd like to cite.
3. From the pop-up window, select the desired citation-style.
4. Copy and paste the citation into your paper.

Keep in mind that these citations are computer-generated and need to be manually checked and edited for accuracy.

Statista provides a citation button for its graphs, tables, charts and other visuals. However, for Statista reports and topic overviews, you will need to manually create the citation.

To use the Cite tool in Statista for visual items, such as graphs, tables, charts, etc.:

1. Perform a keyword search.
2. Click on a statistic you're interested in viewing.
3. Click on the Cite button - the quotation mark (") to the right of the image.
4. From the Cite pop-up box, select a citation style from the dropdown menu.
5. Copy and paste the citation.

APA-Style Example:

Microsoft. (2024, July 30). Microsoft's annual revenue worldwide from FY 2002 to FY 2024 (in billion U.S. dollars) [Graph]. Statista.

Statista includes citations for most of its content. Look for the quotation mark (") icon to find the citation generator. 

You may need to manually adjust the citation to adhere to proper citation formatting. See example above.

Credo Reference is a library database that allows you to search full-text, credible reference sources - like dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks.

Think of Credo as the library's version of Wikipedia.

While you should try to avoid citing from Credo directly, you can use Credo to:

• Get background information on your topic
• Fact-check aspects of your topic
• Get ideas for keywords to use in your search for sources
• Look through entry bibliographies for secondary sources (articles, books) on your topic

To cite a source from Credo:

1. Click on the Cite button at the top of the page - the quotation mark (") symbol.
2. In the pop-up Citation window, select your citation style from the tabbed options.
3. Copy and paste the citation into your paper or project.

Keep in mind these citations are computer-generated and need to be manually check and edited for accuracy.