Research Guides: Copyright: Writing and Citing

Writing and Citing at QU

RefWorks at QU

RefWorks is a web-based application that allows you to create and manage personal bibliographic databases by importing references from text files or online databases. You can then use these references in writing papers; RefWorks will format the citations you insert into a paper and automatically generate a bibliography for that paper. You can specify formatting according to most major style guides.

For MS Word users, RefWorks provides "WriteNCite," a plug-in feature for fast citation creation. (see below for tutorial)

RefWorks is similar to EndNote and ProCite, but whereas these are applications may be installed on your computer, RefWorks is web-based. Once you are recognized by RefWorks as a Quinnipiac University community member by accessing RefWorks from the University network, RefWorks allows you to create a personal account you can then use from any internet-connected location.

If you are interested in comparing RefWorks with other bibliographic management programs, here are some nice tables to look at. [Link]

Comments (0)

Write-&-Cite

Using Write-N-Cite - Click here for Online Tutorial

Write-N-Cite is a utility that allows users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processor. This version of RefWorks displays Author, Title, and Year Only, with a full view option available if needed.

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript with the click of a button. The abbreviated version can be set to Always on top so that it stays in place as you are typing your manuscript and generating your bibliography. The utility installs a Write-N-Cite button on your desktop as well as an Add-in to your Word toolbar (Windows users only) and a menu option in Word, under Tools for launching Write-N-Cite.

Comments (0)

RefWorks Annotated Bibliography

It is assumed that you will be creating an annotated bibliography from one of your folders. It is at this point that you would be adding annotations to the citations in your folder. Please follow the instructions below:

Adding Annotations

Open folder of choice
Click EDIT on right of first citation or click VIEW on left of citation and then EDIT to open the edit page
In the View Fields Used by in the dark gray bar select either APA 6th, Annotated with Notes or MLA 7th, Annotated with Notes which are indented beneath Quinnipiac University Specific Style
Look for the Notesfield midway down the page. It needs to be blank, so if there is text delete it.
Once blank, type in your annotation for that article
Depending on your assignment requirements, you may need to add a blank line/space before beginning the annotation. This can be done now by hitting the enter key to add a blank line above the annotation or you may choose to add a space in the completed annotated bibliography Word document itself.
Click on Save Reference
Repeat with second citation, etc. by clicking on Next in the gray bar to complete annotations for all citations. ***Remember to Save Reference after each new annotation or correction.

Creating Bibliography

Now you are ready to create your bibiography.Click on Bibliographyin the tool bar
For Output Style select appropriate Quinnipiac University Specific Style:
APA 6th, Annotated with Notes
MLA 7th, Annotated with Notes
Select Format a Bibliography from a List of References
Drop down File Type to Create menu and select appropriate version of Word
Identify References to Include in bibliography by selecting folder
Click on Create Bibliography

Comments (0)

Annotated Bibliography

Helpful Links

For information about writing annotated bibliographies check the following websites:

The Owl at Purdue (http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/)

Library Services at California Polytechnic State University (http://lib.calpoly.edu/research/guides/bibliography.html)

Olin and Uris Libraries at Cornell University (http://www.library.cornell.edu/olinuris/ref/research/skill28.htm)

University of Toronto ( http://www.writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography)

Comments (0)