Legislation related to the attack on September 11, 2001.
CRS report to Congress. Authorization for the use of military force on response to the 9/11 attacks.
Demystifying the Post-9/11 GI Bill.
Civil Liberties during wartime.
|
Did you witness history on September 11, 2001? What do you most remember, and how has it affected your life? Click here to record your story now. |
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images. In September 2003, the Library of Congress accepted the Archive into its collections, an event that both ensured the Archive's long-term preservation and marked the library's first major digital acquisition.
The 9/11 Television News Archive is a library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. A resource for scholars, journalists, and the public,it presents one week of news broadcasts for study, research and analysis.
The Avalon Project, from Yale Law School, has mounted digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government as related to the events of 9/11.
The Taliban Biography, National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 295, shows the structure and leadership of the Taliban from 1996-2002.
Complete air-ground transcripts, National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 196, of hijacked 9/11 flight recordings declassified.
The following carefully selected resources, some of which are located at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum, provide further information about the terrorist attacks against the United States on September 11, 2001.
Featured Artifact: 9/11 Bullhorn
President George W. Bush used this bullhorn as he addressed a crowd of first responders at Ground Zero in New York City on September 14th saying: “I can hear you. The rest of the world hears you. And the people who knocked these buildings down will hear from all of us soon.”
The World Reacts Flip Book
In the wake of the September 11th terrorist attacks, people from around the world united and voiced their sympathy and support for the United States. The World Reacts Flip Book contains a small sample of condolence materials from citizens of over 75 countries.
September 11, 2001 Photo Gallery
This gallery consists of 60 digital photographs housed in the Library’s audiovisual collection and taken from September 11, 2001 through October 30, 2001. These photographs focus on the terrorist attacks and the President’s leadership during that terrible time in the nation’s history.
The National September 11th Memorial Museum
The National September 11th Memorial Museum website offers resources of minute detail, such as the Interactive 9/11 Timeline as well as moving personal stories from the Museum’s Oral History Collection.
September 11, 2001, Documentary Project
The Library of Congress’ September 11, 2001 Documentary Project houses a range of audiovisual materials as well as written accounts from the day and the resulting responses to the attacks.
Voices of 9/11
Jointly maintained by the New York Historical Society and the September 11th Digital Archive, this collection contains over 500 videos of personal responses to the terrorist attacks, recorded in New York City, Washington, DC, and Shanksville, Pennsylvania.
George W. Bush Library and Museum Staff Narratives
For the tenth anniversary in 2011, several staff members of the Library wrote a series of blog posts about their memories of September 11, 2001 and what it means to them to preserve some of the documents, artifacts, and audiovisual materials from that momentous day.
As inspiration for fellow rescue workers searching through debris, firefighters unfurl a large American flag over the scarred stone of the Pentagon, September 12, 2001, in Arlington, Virginia, one day after terrorist attacks on the country.
Sneak Peek Document Gallery
The Library’s Sneak Peek Document Gallery contains dozens of documents from President George W. Bush’s time in the White House, including several related to September 11th, such as a note from the President Bush written on the day that the last of the debris was removed from Ground Zero and the proclamation declaring a National Day of Prayer and Remembrance.
The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States
The National Commission on the Terrorist Attacks upon the United States released its full report on July 22, 2004. That report, as well as staff monographs and statements, is available on the Commission’s archived website.
The National Archives 9/11 Commission Records
The National Archives and Records Administration maintains the records of the 9/11 Commission. Currently 35% of the Commission’s documents are available to the public.
The National September 11th Memorial Museum Teach + Learn
The National September 11th Memorial Museum’s Teach + Learn page has a wealth of resources for teachers, including guides, ideas about how to talk to students, answers to common questions, and an archive of webcasts all addressing the topic.
September 11: Bearing Witness to History
The National Museum for American History selected 50 objects recovered shortly after the attacks on September 11th from New York City, Arlington, Virginia, and Shanksville, Pennsylvania. The project’s website includes photographs of those objects as well as blog posts with helpful information for teachers.
Teaching and Learning about September 11th with The New York Times
In its wide-ranging September 11th guide for teachers, the New York Times has collected articles from its own archives and developed key questions to discuss with students as well as topic guides and lesson plans for teachers all relating to the terrorist attacks and the global war on terror.
Department of Education 9/11 Materials for Teachers
The Department of Education has collected materials from federal grantees and agencies commemorating the tenth anniversary of September 11, 2001.
America Responds Classroom Resources
The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) has created lesson plans to assist teachers in discussing the events of September 11th and its related topics with their students.
Teaching September 11: Powerful Resources About Hope and Understanding
Scholastic News Online has currated articles to help teachers explain September 11th to students.
Mrs. Bush's Letters to Students Following Terrorist Attacks
On September 12, 2001, Mrs. Bush wrote a letters to elementary, middle, and high school students offering comfort and guidance in the wake of the attacks. Versions of these letters are available on the Archived White House Website.
CNN Special Report: Day of Terror
Older students can find a chronology, personal accounts, and galleries on this CNN Special Report page.
