Streaming Films for QU Courses: Websites That Provide Free Streaming of Films

PBS series documenting the history of life in the United States

Collection of films about indigenous peoples across the United States

Hundreds of early motion pictures from the Library of Congress American Memory collections

Collection of videos and audio recordings of famous speeches from around the world

In-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers

Newsreels and historic clips from 1902 to 1970

Video library of news stories produced by C-SPAN

Collection of videos and primary sources about the Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.

Site that provides free streaming for TV series that have aired on various networks. Some of the shows available are: Schitt's Creek, Pushing Daisies, Girlfriends, The Carrie Diaries, etc.

Collection of freely accessible documentary films from around the world

Site that provides free access to thousands of documentaries by topics in Art, Culture, History, Medicine, Nature, Science, and Technology

An archive of ethnographic field videos for scholars and instructors

Official Clips from popular feature films

Collection of documentaries by independent filmmakers that focus on the lives, culture, and social struggles of various types of communities across the U.S.

PBS series that explores and illuminates the contemporary world on such topics as business, health, social issues, politics, and war

A collection of videos on general education subjects for middle school, high school, and college students and their instructors

Collection of films, TV shows, recorded commercials, and video game footage

A site that provides access to hundreds of streaming historical films in the LOC collection

Videos produced by the museum that feature reviews of exhibits, and artist interviews/profiles

PBS series on various topics in science and nature

Site created for students and instructors that allows access to selected PBS videos on a variety of subjects

Series documenting contemporary issues in the United States

An American internet television service owned and operated by Viacom CBS Streaming, Pluto TV is a free advertiser-supported video on demand service that offers a selection of films and TV shows from 170 content providers in a format designed to emulate the experience of traditional broadcast programming. The service's revenue is generated from advertisements, and commercial breaks appear at intervals while videos are streaming.

A collection of over 3000 videos produced by the DOE

Selection of classic film noir titles from the educational media website Open Culture

Official website for the series featuring videos of individual speakers presenting short powerful talks on a variety of topics

Provides access to hundreds of documentaries covering a variety of topics

Streaming site owned by Fox Entertainment that provides free streaming access to hundreds of movies and TV shows. The site is funded by advertisers, so while films are free to view there are short ad breaks at 12-15 minute intervals.

A website that provides free access to hundreds of documentaries on many different subjects. Site is frequently updated with new titles.