This guide is a resource for the First Year Seminar. Inquiry is a process that requires access to and critical consumption of information and existing knowledge. The Arnold Bernhard Library is the cornerstone of a campus-wide network of information and knowledge resources. It provides access to information and knowledge that would otherwise be inaccessible or cost prohibitive. This guide provide basic information on how to use the library for the inquiry process and it recommends several tools as a starting point. It includes a compilation of tutorials, instructional materials and library databases. In this guide:
- Finding Books
- Includes a link to the University's OneSearch Tool, EDS, and instructions for using it to search and find books effectively.
- Background and Contextual Information Research Tools
- Presents several entry level databases for getting started including an interdisciplinary encyclopedic database (GVRL), a databases centered around the exploration of complex issues (Opposing Viewpoints in Context and Global Issues in Context, and a database of authoritative newspapers (National Newspaper Core).
- Serves as a starting point for accessing contextual information and building knowledge.
- Scholarly and Peer-reviewed Research Tools
- Includes select databases in various disciplines. Also includes the interdisciplinary database Academic Search Complete.
- Serves as a starting point for locating scholarly information and peer-reviewed research in the arts and humanities, natural and health sciences, and social sciences.
- Quiz
- A class activity for demonstrating learning.
- Tutorial
- Includes an FYS specific tutorial designed to introduce first-term students to the library and information concept.
- Class Assessment
- A form that allows you to tell us how your librarian instructor did during a library class session.
