Research Basics

Working on a project?  Writing a report?  Looking for statistics?  Researching a company? 

Depending on what you are researching you will likely want and need to use different types of sources.  The Information Cycle graphic highlights the progression of newsworthy events and the type of coverage and research over time.  

• Social media, the Web, TV and radio can be instantaneous but can vary as to quality and accuracy.  Critically evaluate the source and look for bias and inaccurate statements.  Realize the situation can be fluid and change as more information is known.
• Popular magazines and newspapers can provide coverage of events quickly online or within the month.  Articles are written by journalists or freelancers to inform the general public and also to serve as a secondary source reporting about original research.     
• Trade publications are written for industry professionals and those interested in the industry.  Articles by industry journalists or freelancers discuss new developments, trends, people, changes, and issues.
• Scholarly journals provide original research articles.  They are written by experts in the field, academics, researchers and scientists, for other experts and university students in order to share findings.  This is a lengthy process and may begin to appear six months but likely a year or longer after an event or research project.  
• Books provide in-depth coverage of a topic.  Much research is involved and it takes a year or more for publication.

Statistics and company and industry information are available in specific databases that the library offers.

What is a primary source?

A primary source is firsthand information created at the time of the event or topic being studied or a firsthand account of an event later recalled by an eyewitness. Think of it as the raw material of history or research.

What are some examples of primary sources?

• diaries, journals & letters
• autobiographies & memoirs
• period newspapers (factual accounts)
• original research studies and experiment results
• government publications (i.e. Census data, economic statistics, etc.)
• data sets & survey data
• speeches
• interviews with event participants or witnesses (i.e. oral histories)
• photographs and posters created at the time
• works of art (paintings, drawings, sculptures) created at the time
• works of literature, film, and music created at the time
• proceedings of meetings, conferences and symposia
• internet communications, i.e. emails, listservs, etc.

How should you use primary sources?

• Gain New Perspectives: Primary sources, like diaries, letters, or interviews, offer the perspectives of people who lived through or witnessed the event. This can reveal unexpected biases, emotions, and details that enrich your understanding.
• Corroborate or Challenge Existing Scholarship:  Primary sources allow you to see the raw evidence for yourself. You can compare it to existing scholarship and identify areas where it aligns or contradicts established narratives.
• Develop Critical Thinking Skills: Primary sources often come with ambiguities and complexities. Analyzing them requires critical thinking. You'll need to consider the author's background, purpose, potential biases, and context of creation to interpret the information accurately.
• Craft Compelling Arguments:  By drawing insights directly from primary sources, you can add depth and originality to your research. It allows you to showcase your ability to analyze evidence and build arguments based on firsthand accounts.

What is a secondary source?

A secondary source analyzes, discusses and interprets primary sources. They are materials that have been created AFTER an event has happened.

What are some examples of secondary sources?

• biographies
• articles in scholarly journals that interpret or review PREVIOUS findings
• popular magazine articles
• a textbook on a specific subject
• book reviews
• book of critical essays

How should you use secondary sources?

• Understand Different Perspectives: Scholarly articles and critical analyses can present various viewpoints on a topic, helping you develop a well-rounded understanding.
• Find Primary Sources: Secondary sources often reference the primary source they're based on, which can lead you to the original research or firsthand accounts.
• Develop a Research Question: By reading how others have analyzed a topic, you can identify gaps in knowledge and refine your own research question.

What is a tertiary source?

Tertiary sources are condensed versions of information, compiled from primary and secondary sources. Think of it as a summary that doesn't add new analysis or interpretation.

What are some examples of tertiary sources?

• Encyclopedias
• Dictionaries
• Bibliographies
• Handbooks
• Almanacs
• Wikipedia
• Most "Reference" Books

How should you use tertiary sources?

• Starting Point: Use them to get oriented on a new topic and identify relevant keywords.
• Finding Sources: Bibliographies in tertiary sources can lead you to valuable primary and secondary sources.
• Background Knowledge: They're handy for brushing up on your general understanding before diving into more complex research.
• Not for Direct Citation: They don't offer in-depth analysis, unique insights or original research, so citing them directly weakens your work.