Skip to Main Content

Anthropology: Cite with RefWorks

About RefWorks

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.  First time users must create an individual account in RefWorks.  

Creating an Account

Getting Started

New users must create a personal account to get started.

  • Access the New RefWorks website.
  • Select “Create Account” on the bottom of the RefWorks page.  You will need to enter your Quinnipiac University email account and create a password.  Next, activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process).
  • After creating your account, you are ready to populate your RefWorks database with citations.

Academic Search Complete

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Click on + icon to right of the article title
  3. Click on Folder View in right margin next to title (just under "Folder has items")
  4. Check box to Select All references
  5. In the right column, click on page icon with green arrow to Export
  6. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
  7. Click on Save. Do not check off remove items from folder after saving
  8. Click on Import
  9. Click on Go to Last Imported
  10. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
  11. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

JSTOR

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Mark records by checking them off (JSTOR requires exporting references page by page)
  3.  On the top of page, click on Cite and select Export to RefWorks
  4.  Click on Import
  5. Click on Go to Last Imported

        6.   Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

       7. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

​

SocINDEX

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Click on + icon to right of the article title 
  3. Click on Folder View in right margin next to title (just under "Folder has items")
  4. Check box to Select All references
  5. In the right column, click on page icon with green arrow to Export
  6. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
  7. Click on Save. Do not check off remove items from folder after saving
  8. Please make sure to select "Export to the new RefWorks" 
  9. Once in RefWorks, Import Complete, Click on OK
  10. In left column, click on My Folder, then click on Add Folder, name the folder and click save

Sage Journals Online

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Mark records you wish to save by checking them off
  3. Click on Export selected citations above the results
  4. Click on Download Citation

Now in RefWorks

       5.  Open  RefWorks

       6. Click +Add from the top left toolbar

       7. Select "Import References"

       8. In the "Import from a file" select Sage from the file, Select RIS Format

       9. Click on Import

      10. Click on Go to last Imported

      11.  Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

       12. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder,  select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Library OneSearch

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Click onicon to right of the title 
  3. Go to folder icon on top next to search button 
  4. Click on dropdown under Export To, click on RefWorks
  5. Click on Import
  6. Click on Go to Last Imported
  7. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
  8. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Please Note

There is a complete RefWorks Library Guide available with a tutorial and additional database export instructions.

Creating a Bibliography - APA 7th edition

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.  Usually a bibliography will be created from a folder. 

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon .   When the drop down menu opens, click on Create Bibliography again.

 

When the bibliography opens it will appear in the citation style most recently used.  To change the style, click on the arrow next to the style in use, example is APA 7th.  Select a different style from the listing or type in a style in the search box.  Once the new style is chosen, the bibliography will automatically reload. Select the star and it will add this style to your favorites list. Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.