Abolition in Britain and Ireland - Irish Studies Resources - Prof. Christine Kinealy - Research Guides at Quinnipiac University Libraries

Books, Databases, Essays, Websites

The African American Abolitionists who visited Ireland in the 1800s
Essay by Maureen Dunphy Brady (Irish Central, February 18, 2020)
The Black Abolitionist Papers
Five e-volumes published by UNC-Chapel Hill 1985 – 1992. See volume 1, The British Isles 1830 – 1865
The black abolitionists who shocked Victorian Britain
Essay from BBC History Magazine, including Podcast by historian Hannah Rose-Murray
Blacks in Britain
Essay by Terry Allen from the University of Rochester Frederick Douglass Project (2002)
Connecticut Abolitionists
National Parks Service website that provides information about the abolitionist movement in Connecticut with links to additional resources
Frederick Douglass in Britain and Ireland
Website that provides information on Frederick Douglass – his journeys in England and Ireland, the controversies he caused, and maps showing the locations of his speeches. The second map shows some of the speaking locations of other black abolitionists such as Josiah Henson, William Wells Brown, William and Ellen Craft, Moses Roper and Henry ‘Box’ Brown, etc.

Hartford Courant (Historical) 1764-1922 This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text dating back to the first issue.

The Irish abolitionist: Daniel O’Connell
Essay by Christine Kinealy (Irish America, Aug/Sep 2011)

Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
The complete digitization of Ireland's newspaper heritage. Titles such as the Irish Independent (1905 - current), Sunday Independent, The Freeman's Journal, the Nation and many of Ireland's leading regional newspapers are fully searchable. Research Ireland's past as recorded by the leading publications of the day - the Wolfe Tone Rebellion of 1798 as reported in the Freeman's Journal to the great famine as reported in The Nation and more recent seminal moments in Irish history as reported in the Irish Independent.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly full-text journals. The earliest content dates back to 1665.

New England Anti-Slavery Society
Wikipedia page that includes links to abolitionist sites and primary resources