Skip to Main Content

MAT Education Program: Cite with RefWorks

A collection of specific library resources for members of the MAT Program.

About RefWorks

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.  First time users must create an individual account in RefWorks.  

Creating an Account

Getting Started

New users must create a personal account to get started.

  • Access the New RefWorks website.
  • Select “Create Account” on the RefWorks page.  You will need to enter your Quinnipiac University email account and create a password.  Next, activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process).
  • After creating your account, you are ready to populate your RefWorks database with citations.

ERIC (EBSCO)

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Click on + icon to right of the article title 
  3. Click on Folder View in right margin next to title (just under "Folder has items")
  4. Check box to Select All references
  5. In the right column, click on page icon with green arrow to Export
  6. Select Direct Export to RefWorks
  7. Click on Save. Do not check off remove items from folder after saving
  8. Click on Import
  9. Click on Go to Last Imported
  10. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.
  11. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

JSTOR

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Mark records by checking them off (JSTOR requires exporting references page by page)
  3.  On the top of page, click on Cite and select Export to RefWorks
  4.  Click on Import
  5. Click on Go to Last Imported

        6.   Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

       7. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

​

Save articles from the Web using Save to RefWorks

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called the Save to RefWorks button.  The Save to RefWorks button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library. 

To add the Save to RefWorks button to your browser, click on Tools and select Tools (screen shot below).   Simply drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

You can easily review the information about the webpage (metadata) and edit it prior to importing into RefWorks.  This is an important step since what RefWorks can capture varies from webpage to webpage.  Please see below for an example of a webpage (CDC) and the Save to RefWorks information panel.  The first thing to check at the top is the option, Type of Reference, and verify that it indicates Web Page.  

 

Creating a Bibliography

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.  Usually a bibliography will be created from a folder. 

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon . 

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.