Edward & Barbara Netter Library News

Clinical Capsules on MedOne Education is a  comprehensive series of clinical learning modules that cover individual diseases and disorders, They are organized within 15 volumes, spanning across organ systems and specialties. Those 15 volumes are:

• Cardiovascular System
• Dermatologic System
• Endocrine System
• Gastrointestinal System
• Gynecology
• Hematologic System
• Multisystem Processes and Disorders
• Musculoskeletal System
• Neurologic System
• Obstetrics
• Pediatrics
• Psychiatry
• Pulmonary System
• Renal and Genitourinary System
• Surgery

There are now 435 modules.

New Exhibit Open in the Netter Library!

The Edward and Barbara Netter Library has a growing collection of historical medical instruments, dating from the 19th and 20th centuries. The core of the collection was donated by Quinnipiac University Board of Trustees member Richard Silver. Materials in the collection include surgical kits, apothecary chests, ether bottles, and early examples of electrical-powered medical devices.

You can read more about the dedication ceremony, and visit the collection in person during regular library hours. There is also an companion website with the full catalog of the collection.  

The NLM exhibit, AIDS, Posters, and Stories of Public Health: A People’s History of a Pandemic, will be on display in the Netter Library (MNH-339) from August 26 to September 18! 

The libraries are also partnering with the Office of Community Engagement to pair the exhibit with sections of the AIDS Memorial Quilt.

This exhibition explores how AIDS posters serve as highly adaptable, durable, cost effective, efficient tools in sharing public health messaging. Created by communities bonded together by illness and a desire to make change, these posters provide a gateway to AIDS history, illustrating how, in the face of illness, neglect, and, early on, the unknown, people came together to connect, create, and save one another's lives. Today, AIDS posters continue to be valuable resources for the ongoing epidemic. They teach us about community organizing processes and the ways that groups dealing with HIV heal, share fears, and strategize toward wellness together.

The accompanying website from the National Library of Medicine provides even more information. 

More programming TBA around this topic, including a book club!

Calendar Event for NLM exhibit.

Check out the new things added to ClincialKey in the Student Resources section, and linked to throughout ClinicalKey:

• Access to more than 100 additional high-value textbooks, including Health Systems Science and Board-Review materials.
• Extra videos, images, and interactive content designed to deepen understanding of complex topics.
• Curated articles, chapters, and supplementary resources for a more comprehensive learning environment.
• Customizable bookshelf app and downloadable textbooks for offline access – study anytime, anywhere.
• Personalization features like flashcards and tools for highlighting text and making annotations, ensuring effective notetaking and study sessions.
• Enhanced accessibility options, including speech functionality with ‘read aloud’, various font choices (including OpenDyslexic), and content controls for customizing reading experiences.

APA 7 can cause a lot of stress for students. Here at the Netter Library, we create and gather resources to help relieve some of that burden! 

The APA 7 Citation Help guide houses all of the Netter Library APA 7 resources, including (but not limited to)

• Pre-formatted sample papers in Microsoft Word
• Paper formatting guidelines
• General reference list guidelines
• In-text citation guidelines
• Examples of and guidance for difference reference types
• APA self-assessment
• Video introduction to citations

When in doubt, you can always ask a librarian for assistance! While we wont read through your entire reference list, we will answer specific questions you might have about a citation. 

The Netter Library is running a long-term trial of GIDEON, the Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network database.

GIDEON is a rich resource, updated daily, for infectious disease, epidemiology, and microbiology information. The platform features tools for finding disease, drug, vaccine, microbe, and country-specific information; identifying pathogens; performing diagnoses; and visualizing epidemiological data, including disease outbreaks and vaccine coverage. At their website, in the “More” section, GIDEON also contains books on infectious diseases in specific countries, specific diseases globally, and major topics in the study of infectious diseases and epidemiology (as well as sample lesson plans). 

A brief overview is available at https://www.gideononline.com/features/, and there is a lot of info on their Help page, including videos. A mobile version is also available.