Interactive Media and Communications

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations for various books, articles, and other sources on a topic. The annotated bibliography looks like a Works Cited page but includes an annotation after each source cited. An annotation is a short summary and/or critical evaluation of a source and ranges anywhere from 100-300 words. 

Annotations can help you learn about your topic, develop a thesis statement, decide if a specific source will be useful for your assignment, and determine if there is enough valid information available to complete your project. They are a great tool in effective research.

Types of Annotations

 A summary annotation describes the source by answering the following questions: who wrote the document, what the document discusses, when and where was the document written, why was the document produced, and how was it provided to the public. The focus is on description. 

 An evaluative annotation includes a summary as listed above but also critically assesses the work for accuracy, relevance, and quality. Evaluative annotations can help you learn about your topic, develop a thesis statement, decide if a specific source will be useful for your assignment, and determine if there is enough valid information available to complete your project. The focus is on description and evaluation.

• Each annotation should be one or two paragraphs, between three to six sentences long (about 100- 300 words total).
• Start with the same format as a regular Works Cited list, including a 0.5 inch hanging indent for the citations.
• All lines should be double-spaced (though this depends on your professor's preference). Do not add an extra line between the citations.
• Try to be objective, and give explanations if you state any opinions.
• Use the third person (e.g., he, she, the author) instead of the first person (e.g., I, my, me), unless discussing your own research in relation to the source.

1. Cite the source using APA style or what citation format your professor requires.
2. Describe the main ideas, arguments, themes, theses, or methodology, and identify the intended audience.
3. Explain the author’s expertise, point of view, and any bias he/she may have.
4. Compare to other sources on the same topic that you have also cited to show similarities and differences.
5. Explain why each source is useful for your research topic and how it relates to your topic.
6. Evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of each source.
7. Identify the observations or conclusions of the author. 

Maak, T. (2007). Responsible leadership, stakeholder engagement, and the emergence of social capital. Journal of Business Ethics, 74, 329-343.

            https://doi.org/10.1007/s10551-007-9510-5. 

This article focuses on the role of social capital in responsible leadership. It looks at both the social networks that a leader builds within an

organisation, and the links that a leader creates with external stakeholders. Maak’s main aim with this article seems to be to persuade people

of the importance of continued research into the abilities that a leader requires and how they can be acquired. The focus on the world of

multinational business means that for readers outside this world many of the conclusions seem rather obvious (be part of the solution not part

of the problem). In spite of this, the article provides useful background information on the topic of responsible leadership and definitions of

social capital which are relevant to an analysis of a public servant.

Adapted From:

Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Canada. (2024, December 12). Libguides: APA citation guide (7th edition) : Sample Paper, reference list & annotated bibliography. 

https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/c.php?g=713274&p=5082937. 

• Annotated Bibliographies

  Overview of purpose and form of annotated bibliographies from the Purdue OWL. 

• Annotated Bibliography Samples

  Includes a sample of one MLA, one APA, and one Chicago annotated bibliography from the Purdue OWL.