Listed below are several databases for identifying articles from trade publications. Remember to use the left margin to limit to "Trade Publications" or "Trade Journals" when conducting the search.
Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Enter keywords and once results appear look in left margin to select "Trade Journals" if an option under Source Type.
Full text coverage of over 200 titles and citation coverage for additional sources in communications studies and mass media.
***If the topic deals with film or television, consider using Film & Television Literature Index database since it contains a representative collection of trade publications. Its interface is the same as Communication and Mass Media Complete.
A multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. Includes more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires, and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias. View and search for images found within articles.
Provides full text of magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
Comprehensive source for sports & sports medicine journals. Also allows users to search for images. For some titles, full-text coverage dates back to 1985.
Identifies articles in the trade publication: Street & Smith's SportsBusiness Journal. PLEASE NOTE: In SPORTDiscus limit to or click on Magazines to see articles from Street & Smith's. They have it identified incorrectly as a magazine, rather it is a trade publication.
If the full text does not link, try copying and pasting the article title into Google. It seems one can access 2 articles for free.
Reality Check.
Published in Variety and found in the MasterFILE database.
MLA Citation Format:
Schneider, Michael. "Reality Check." Variety, vol. 334, no. 16, 24 Jan. 2017, pp. 54-57. Film &
Television Literature Index, http://libraryproxy.quinnipiac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&db=fah&AN=120915076&site=ehost-live&scope=site
REMEMBER TO INDENT ALL LINES OF THE REFERENCE CITATION AFTER THE FIRST LINE. I WAS UNABLE TO DO SO WITH THE URL.
Check the MLA Research Guide page for citing trade publication articles. Trade articles are cited just like magazine articles.
When searching for TRADE PUBLICATION ARTICLES, begin with Communication and Mass Media Complete to locate articles in the field of communications. If these are not proving helpful then try either ABI/Inform, MainFile or MasterFILE.
Remember to use the left margin to limit to "Trade Publications" or "Trade Journals" when conducting the search.
