Online Catalog

The National Library of Ireland Online Catalog
has an option to "show digitised items only." This will be helpful for people outside of Ireland who may not have access to the National Library of Ireland's printed materials.

Below are some examples of items that can be found in the catalog:

Flier listing those who died during the Easter Rising, 1916, circa 1916-1917.

Sixtieth anniversary commemoration poster of 1916 Rising featuring images of the signatories.

The 1916 Rising: Personalities and Perspectives

The National Library of Ireland
has an online exhibit which details the context, events, key figures, and aftermath of the 1916 Rising. Through the use of the National Library's vast collection of books, newspapers, photographs, and other materials, this exhibit tells the story of this significant period in Irish History.

Collections

The National Library of Ireland website also allows for browsing by collection. Here are some of their relevant collections:

Éamon de Valera Photographic Collection

Eamon de Valera took part in the 1916 Easter Rising as well as the War of Independence, 1919-1921. He later served as Taoiseach for many years and became President of Ireland in 1959. This collection contains nearly 70 photographs spanning his political career.

Keogh Brothers Ltd., p. (1916). Irish Rebellion, May 1916: Ed. de Valera (Commandent of the Ringsend Area). Sentenced to Death; Sentence to Penal Servitude for Life. Dublin: Powell Press, 22 Parliament St.

1916 Copy Prints Photographic Collection and the 1916 Prints Photographic Collection

This collection includes photographs of Dublin city streets during and after the Easter Rising.

Remnants of a building on O'Connell street following the Easter Rising, 1916, including bystanders and pedestrians.